Day 5

Our last dinner

Our last dinner

Sanne

Snack: (After midnight on Thursday!)
0.04 Four biscuits
0.01 Cinnamon
0.03 Yoghurt
Total: 0.08

Breakfast:
0.08 Bread
0.05 Cream cheese
0.16 40g cereal
0.04 40g yoghurt
Total: 0.33

Snack:
0.03 Six biscuits

Lunch:
0.08 One slice of bread
0.10 100g of pasta
0.05 Five grams of pesto
Total: 0.23

Dinner:
0.115 pasta for 115g of pasta
0.06 pesto 6g
0.01 cheese
0.11 peas 50g
0.165 broccoli
0.04 carrot
Total: 0.50

Snack:
0.02 Four biscuits

TOTAL: €1.19

Experience: I can’t believe that this is the last day! On one hand I am very excited to not have to weigh and plan everything I eat and of course to can’t wait to eat some meat or fish and fruit again. On the other hand there is this guilty feeling stuck to it, that I can just return back to my regular life with whatever food I would like, while millions of people can’t.. I learnt a lot this week and eating 1.25 a day is definitely not easy. To be very honest I don’t think that I would be able to live like this, or I would have to make some changes in the food choices. I didn’t feel like I had energy to do any exercise and I had more difficulty concentrating on my school work! Today we also got an anonymous donation and we are so curious who it is! We really have no clue..

Victoria

Breakfast:
0.095 Rice (ground to make pancakes)
0.04 Tea
0.02 Milk for pancakes
0.04 40g frozen fruit
Total: 0.195

Lunch:
0.16 185g Baked beans
0.06 Two small slices of bread
0.04 Cup of tea
Total: 0.26
Snack:
0.04 Tea
0.255 Yoghurt, 1/4 apple and yummy granola
Dinner:
0.115 pasta for 115g of pasta
0.06 pesto 6g
0.01 cheese
0.11 peas 50g
0.165 broccoli
0.04 carrot
Total: 0.50

TOTAL = €1.25

Experience: Glad it’s the last day! Although it has been getting easier and easier each day, it’s still time consuming weighing and calculating everything and I’ll be glad when I don’t have to think about it. We got another anonymous donation today which brings our total to £205 (€249.31!!) so thank you to whoever that was!

Quite a few of you have asked me what my first meal will be (and wait, I just looked at the clock and it’s 23:53 – so if I wait 7 more minutes I can eat fresh fruit and salmon and chocolate and :O… no, that would be cheating… I need to sleep through one more hungry-before-bed night and see this through to the end) and after my breakfast of PG tips and cornflakes I’ll be heading out to town with a friend for toasties and cake. Then to the supermarket to stock up!

This week has taught me a few lessons though. I realise that every little bit of food is important for someone, somewhere, and although I knew this before, I had never really thought about it. When I drop a pea on the floor I frantically search repeating ‘5 second rule! 5 second rule!’ as that one pea might keep me going just that little bit longer. And I know that sounds O.T.T. but seriously, it’s been pretty tough and it’s a hard truth realising that people search for their dropped peas every day.

But it’s late and I’m tired and I’m mumbling about peas so I should go…

And here’s a great meme which sums up what we’ve been through this week:

http://blogs.unicef.org.uk/2014/04/30/eleven-things-people-living-line-will-understand/

Thank you to all who supported us for this great cause – it’s enough just knowing that this has raised some awareness of this harsh reality.

TTFN guys x

Yoghurt, granola and baked apple

Yoghurt, granola and baked apple

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/sannevictoria

Leave a Reply

